Spectral FT-IR sensor - NeoSpectra™ Micro for 1350 to 2500 nm

The world’s smallest FT-IR sensor of the NeoSpectra Micro™ is based on monolithic MEMS technology and is developed and produced by Si-Ware Systems.

In addition to the MEMS chip and InGaAs photodetector, the Micro contains several ASICs for device control and data processing, as well as an optical head. This already consists of a complete illumination unit and coupling optics, which are designed for reflection measurements. Customized optical heads can be developed. Via the Ball Grid Array (BGA) underneath, the Micro is soldered onto your own board and thus mounted mechanically stable, supplied with power and becomes addressable via SPI.
Hence, the NeoSpectra™ Micro is the ideal solution for NIR analysis in mobile handheld devices that require a very small size, a good price and a wide wavelength range.

WL range1,350 - 2,500 nm
S/N*>2,000:1 @ 2,350 nm
Resolution16 nm
Accuracy / Repeatability± 1.5 nm / ± 0.15 @ 1,400 nm
Temperature range-5 .... +40°C
InterfaceBGA / SPI
* at 2 s scan time

 

In the Development Kit the Micro is already soldered onto a test board and can be used directly as a plug-and-play solution to accelerate the development of your own application. Using the SpectroMOST platform-independent test software supplied, the device can be immediately controlled and spectra obtained.
Please give us a call – we are happy to support you.

How it works

The NeoSpectra™ devices are based on a full Michel interferometer that is realised on a MEMS chip. A MEMS oscillating mirror represents the movable arm of the interferometer. From the coupled light arises an interferogram on the InGAs photodetector, from which the spectrum is calculated via Fourier-Transformation.

Development Kit

The Development Kit is a plug-and-play solution to allow working directly with the NeoSpectra Micro. This accelerates the learning process and enables you to quickly start developing your own application.
It consists of the test board to which the NeoSpectra™ Micro is soldered and which can be addressed via PINs on the bottom using SPI commands. Screwed onto the supplied Raspberry Pi, the NeoSpectra Micro can be connected to a computer or operated independently. The SpectroMOST test software is supplied for both computer and Raspberry Pi in order to use the sensor directly.

Typical Applications

Most qualitative and quantitative analysis possible in NIR with spectroscopy can be transferred to the NeoSpectra™ devices. Typical applications are for example:

  • Water content measurements of liquids, solid materials and powders for process and quality control
  • Identification of faked materials, such as the differentiation of silk, wool, cotton, elastane, etc.
  • Quantitative measurements of the composition of food or feed, e.g. the content of fat, protein and lactose of milk.
  • Characterization of plastics, e.g. via polymer identification such as polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinylchloride etc.

Spektraler FT-IR-Sensor – NeoSpectra™ Micro für 1350 bis 2500 nm

Der weltweit kleinste FT-IR Sensor des NeoSpectra Micro™ basiert auf monolithischer MEMS-Technologie und wird von Si-Ware Systems entwickelt und produziert.

Neben dem MEMS Chip und dem InGaAs Photodetektor enthält das Micro mehrere ASICs zur Kontrolle des Geräts und der Datenverarbeitung, sowie einen optischen Kopf. Dieser besteht bereits aus einer kompletten Beleuchtungseinheit und Einkopplungsoptik, die auf Reflexionsmessungen ausgelegt ist. Andere optische Köpfe können kundenspezifisch entwickelt werden. Über das Ball Grid Array (BGA) auf der Unterseite wird das Micro auf die eigene Platine gelötet und damit sowohl mechanisch stabil befestigt, als auch mit Strom versorgt und über SPI ansprechbar.

Damit ist das NeoSpectra™ Micro die ideale Lösung für NIR-Analysen in mobilen Handgeräten, die eine sehr geringe Größe, einen guten Preis und einen breiten Wellenlängenbereich erfordern.

WL-Bereich1.350 - 2.500 nm
S/N*>2.000:1 @ 2.350 nm
Auflösung16 nm
Genauigkeit / Wiederholbarkeit± 1,5 nm / ± 0,15 @ 1.400 nm
Temperaturbereich-5 .... +40°C
InterfaceBGA / SPI
* bei 2 s Scanzeit

 

Im Development Kit ist das Micro bereits auf eine Testplatine gelötet und kann so direkt als Plug-and-Play Lösung zur Beschleunigung der Entwicklung Ihrer eigenen Anwendung genutzt werden. Die Steuerung und die Ausgabe der Spektren ist dabei über die mitgelieferte plattformunabhängige Testsoftware SpectroMOST sofort möglich.

Bitte rufen Sie uns an. Wir unterstützen Sie gerne mit Rat und Tat.

Funktionsweise

Den NeoSpectra™ Geräten zugrunde liegt ein komplettes Michelson-Interferometer das auf einem MEMS Chip realisiert wurde. Hierbei stellt ein MEMS-Schwingspiegel den beweglichen Interferometerarm dar. Aus dem eingekoppelten Licht entsteht so auf dem InGaAs Photodetektor ein Interferogramm, aus dem mittels Fourier-Transformation das Spektrum errechnet wird.

Development Kit

Das Development Kit ist eine Plug-and-Play-Lösung, um direkt mit dem NeoSpectra™ Micro arbeiten zu können. Damit wird der Lernprozess beschleunigt und Sie können schnell mit der Entwicklung Ihrer eigenen Anwendung beginnen.
Es besteht aus der Testplatine, auf die das NeoSpectra™ Micro gelötet ist und die über PINs auf der Unterseite mit SPI Befehlen angesprochen werden kann. Auf das mitgelieferte Raspberry Pi geschraubt kann das NeoSpectra Micro mit einem Computer verbunden oder eigenständig betrieben werden. Sowohl für den Computer, als auch das Raspberry Pi wird die Testsoftware SpectroMOST mitgeliefert, um den Sensor direkt zu nutzen.

Typische Applikationen

Die meisten qualitativen und quantitativen Analysen, die im NIR mit Spektroskopie möglich sind, lassen sich auf die NeoSpectra™ Geräte übertragen. Typische Anwendungen sind:

  • Wassergehaltsmessungen von Flüssigkeiten, Feststoffen und Pulvern für die Prozess- und Qualitätskontrolle
  • Identifizierung von gefälschten Textilien, z.B. Unterscheidung von Seide, Wolle, Baumwolle, Elasthan usw.
  • Quantitative Messung der Zusammensetzung von Lebensmitteln oder Tierfutter z.B. des Fett-, Protein-, und Lactosegehalts von Milch
  • Charakterisierung von Kunststoffen, z.B. durch Polymeridentifikation wie Polyethylen, Polypropylen, Polyvinylchlorid usw.

 

 

Angebot anfordern







Das NeoSpectra™ Development Kit im Einsatz – Lebensmittel- und Textilanalyse

Das NeoSpectra™ Micro